Strange IndiaStrange India

A fit-again KL Rahul will lead India in the three-match ODI series against Zimbabwe, a statement from the BCCI said on Thursday. Shikhar Dhawan has been named his deputy. Earlier, in the initial 15-member squad announced by the BCCI on July 30, Rahul’s name was not present and Dhawan was supposed to lead the team. However, on Thursday, the BCCI said in a statement that Rahul has been cleared to play. The three ODIs will be played at the Harare Sports Club on August 18, 20 and 22.”The BCCI Medical Team has assessed KL Rahul and cleared him to play in the upcoming three-match ODI series in Zimbabwe. The All-India Senior Selection Committee has appointed him the captain of the side and named Shikhar Dhawan as his deputy,” the BCCI said in a statement.Rahul had earlier been named in India’s squad for Asia Cup too. He is back in the Indian team after a gap. A few months back Rahul had suffered an injury before the T20I series against South Africa, and he did not feature in the five-match contest. He underwent a surgery and missed several series. Then he tested positive for COVID-19 ahead of the Tour of West Indies and could not travel with the side. Now, Rahul will now get crucial game-time ahead of the Asia Cup T20 contest to be played in the UAE from September 27.Senior players like Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant and Jasprit Bumrah were not included in the squad. Rahul Tripathi, who represents Sunrisers Hyderabad in Indian Premier League, was included in the ODI squad after his solid performance in the 2022 edition. In 14 games, he scored 413 runs at an average of 37.55 and hit three fifties. He was the second-highest run-getter for his side.All-rounder Washington Sundar and bowler Deepak Chahar have also made a return to the side after battling injuries.With the inclusion of Rahul, the BCCI selection committee has named a 16-member squad.PromotedIndia’s squad for 3 ODIs: KL Rahul (Captain) Shikhar Dhawan (vice-captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Prasidh Krishna, Mohd Siraj, Deepak Chahar.With PTI inputsTopics mentioned in this article

Source link


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *